Bessie and Jessie's Homemade Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Bag hardware (shiny lovely things) June 10, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Heather @ 20:59
image

Lovely shiny bag findings (with the exception of my magnetic closers)

These are all of the lovely shiny bag findings/accessories that I used on my bag, with the exception of some magnetic closers that my mum gave me and a little crystal effect button which I put on one of the side pockets.  The pattern tells you to use velcro to close the bag but having had velcro on my old nappy bag and it getting stuck to absolutely everything and getting all dirty and full of fluff, essentially becoming useless, I wanted to use something different and I think the magnetic closers give it a more expensive look.  The pattern also gives you a piece to make a strap out of fabric but I felt that it would end up getting all creased and looking awful quite quickly so instead I had the idea to try and make a strap like you would see on other bags like ones by Pink Lining or Cath Kidston.  I found it quite hard to find a webbing strap that I could just clip on to the bag and having scoured the internet I found this luggage strap from Marks & Spencer for £5 which I thought was an absolute bargain, plus its just the colour I wanted and super long too so gave me some allowance for mistakes.  I cut off the plastic clip and slide adjuster in favour of using silver pieces to make it look a little more professional.  Because I wasn’t sewing in the strap to the bag like in the pattern I had to buy some D rings and make some tabs to hold these on to the side of the bag which I then fixed with rivets.  Although I love the luggage strap it actually ended up being a bit of a pain only because of its width it was too wide to fit normal swivel clips to allow me to clip it on the bag without the webbing of the strap getting all creased and folded over but the solution came on ebay where I found these huge swivel clips from a shop selling fixings for horse rug repairs.  This is also where I got the slide adjuster to keep the strap in place. The rivets also came from ebay for about £1.  It appears really difficult to be able to find silver rivets for some reason and these were really easy to use as all you have to do is make a hole in the fabric with a tailors awl and then hammer the pieces together. The bag feet, D rings and the small swivel clips (for a tab inside the bag) came from a website called u-handbag which is a really great resource for buying lots of lovely things for making bags and the huge pink buttons came from a local craft shop for 65p each, they are only for decoration though (I think I may have mentioned my love of buttons before!).  Also not photographed here is some bag bottom plastic grid that I also got from the u-handbag website so it keeps the bottom of the bag from becoming all horrid and saggy.

 

Leave a Reply

