Bessie and Jessie's Homemade Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Home made changing bag May 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Heather @ 21:45

The first project I want to complete is a changing bag for the baby which I am expecting in four weeks.  I do have one from my first baby but found it too big and clumsy to carry round as well as being boring black (more my husband’s choice than mine) and this time I want something for me, something more girly and a bit vintage looking.  I like the fact that my changing bag would look like no-one elses and also cost a lot less too.  I have tons of scrap fabrics but might need to buy some heavier weight stuff to make it look a bit nicer as well as the sliders to make the strap adjustable.  I’ve been trying to find a pattern online as I’ve never made a bag before and was really hoping for a free pattern online but can’t seem to find one that I like.  However, I did manage to find one from Butterick (pattern B4560) and have just found someone else on a blog who has made one too and it looks great.  It even has inside pockets and a flat over the top which is something that I wanted to do.  Hopefully this will cost me a lot less to make than buying a standard one off the shelf that looks like everyone elses.


http://madebyloulabelle.blogspot.com/2009_09_01_archive.html


I love the fabrics she has used but think I might try and use something a bit lighter in colour.


I’ll let you know how I get on.

 

Leave a Reply

